TUC LGBT+ Conference 2021

TUC LGBT+ Conference took place virtually 25-26 February 2021. ASLEF’s delegation carried over from the cancelled 2020 conference and was made up by Darran Brown (LGBT+RC Secretary, District 3), David Jones (LGBT+RC Chair, District 7), Graham O’Mara (elected lay member, District 6) and James Sutherland (elected Lay member, District 3). Darran Brown was re-elected toContinue reading “TUC LGBT+ Conference 2021”

LGBT+ History Month 2021 Webinar

To mark LGBT+ History Month in 2021 our LGBT+ Representative Committee hosted a webinar covering the work of the committee since its inception in 2000. Featuring founding and current members of the committee, the webinar explored the experiences then and now for LGBT+ members within ASLEF and working on the railway.

Representative Committees at AAD

AAD 2000 saw the creation of the consultative committees and at AAD 2001 – 2003 the work of the consultative committees was summarised in EC reports. At AAD 2004 the consultative committees sent a member to AAD to report on the work of the consultative committee over the year.

Representative Committees in 2020

The ASLEF equality committee’s as well as growing in number have had a variety of titles over the last 20 years. At inception they were the Women’s, Sexually Equality and Race Consultative Committees and now in 2020 we have the Women’s, LGBT+, BAME and Young Members Representative Committees as well as the Disabled Members Forum.